socialnetworks

There are plenty of online social networking sites that cater to children and/or teens; these sites can be used in educational settings as well as for more general home use.

  1. ePals Classroom
  2. Whyville
  3. Imbee
  4. Think
  5. Instructables
  6. Groupvine
  7. Nuvvo
  8. Diigo
  9. Eduspaces
  10. Safe Social Networking Sites Article


All Things Related to My Space



  1. My Space Tracker
  2. Why Youth Heart My Space
  3. My Space Support
  4. My Space Codes
  5. My Space Codes and Tutorial
  6. My Space Tutorial For HTML
  7. My Space Editor
  8. My Space and DOPA
  9. Stalkerati
  10. Juice Caster
  11. Pimp My Space
  12. Easy My Space Editor
  13. Tasteful My Space Pages

Conversions with children and teens are the most effective way to educate them about the dangers of online social networking. Use the following resources to first educate yourself so you will know what the dangers are, steps that you can take to protect your children, but most importantly, teach them how to protect themselves.


  1. PowerPoint on 2007 Survey on Online Safety
  2. 1-800-THE LOST or visit www.cybertipline.com
  3. Blog Safety Community www.blogsafety.com/forum.jspa?forumID=1100000006
  4. Easy Way to Monitor Your Child Online coolcatteacher.blogspot.com/2006/07/easy-way-to-monitor-your-child-on.html
  5. Educational Cyber Playground http://www.edu-cyberpg.com/Technology/socialnetwork.html
  6. Enough is Enough www.enough.org
  7. FBI - A Parent's Guide to Internet Safety www.fbi.gov/publications/pguide/pguidee.htm
  8. Get Net Wise www.getnetwise.org/
  9. Guide for EducatorsWorking to Halt Online Abuse www.haltabuse.org/
  10. Help Delete Online Predators www.missingkids.com/adcouncil/
  11. Internet Safety Education www.isafe.org/
  12. Internet Safety www.wtvi.com/teks/tools/safety.html
  13. I Safe www.isafe.org/
  14. Mentor Training Network xblock.isafe.org/imtn.php
  15. Obscenity Crimes www.obscenitycrimes.org/
  16. Online Safety Quiz www.safekids.com/quiz/index.html
  17. Protect Kids www.protectkids.com
  18. Saint Andrew's Page on My Space www.st-andrews.org/web2/page.php?id=192
  19. Safe Kids www.safekids.com/
  20. Safe and Responsible Use of the Internet http://www.csriu.org/onlinedocs/pdf/srui/sruilisting.html
  21. Signal - An Article on My Space http://www.the-signal.com/?module=displaystory&story_id=33339&format=html
  22. Social Networking - A Webquest www.webquest.org/questgarden/lessons/37465-061009195036/index.htm
  23. Social Networking Sites - A Parent's Guide onguardonline.gov/socialnetworking.html
  24. Stay Safe www.staysafe.org/
  25. Stay Safe for Teens www.staysafe.org/teens/videos/predator.html
  26. Teen Angels www.teenangels.org/
  27. Trust in Education trustineducation.net/about_us
  28. Wired Safety www.wiredsafety.org/